Sunday, 16 December 2012

Press Release for the first 3 novels in the Talon series

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                                                   

For More Information, Contact:  Gigi Sedlmayer


Teaching Children Self-Confidence Through Service to Others


(Nov, 2011) – Children today face immense pressure to fit in with their peers. This pressure is leading to record rates of depression among preteens and teenagers. Parents look for ways to build their children’s self-esteem; however, teens look to their peers and popular culture for acceptance rather than their parents. This puts parents in a challenging situation.


Luckily, there is something parents can do to help steer their child toward self-acceptance: give them Talon- Come Fly With Me, the first book of a series from author Gigi Sedlmayer.


Most children of this age group have issues with acceptance and this is explored and resolved in a positive manner within the story line of the Talon series,” Sedlmayer said. “Matica shows children and teens that they can overcome great obstacles with love, patience and a selfless attitude toward helping others and experience exciting adventure on the way.”


Talon- Come Fly With Me, the first book in the series is about the life of nine-year-old blond Matica and her condor friends Tamo and Tima in a remote village on a dry plateau in the Andes of Peru. She moved here with her Australian missionary and schoolteacher parents when she was five years old. Ever since she could remember she faced cruel rejection because of the growth handicap that traps her in a body the size of a two-year-old. Because of that, the local Indians wouldn’t accept her into their community or allowed her to play with their children.


But raising Tamo and Tima’s chick, Talon, and letting him grow into the majestic flyer after the fight with the poachers, Matica soon becomes very popular.


Two months later the most unbelievably amazing thing Matica had dreamed of ever since she first befriended the condors, actually unfolds. That changes her life so completely that she can now see a positive side to her handicap. The Indians then fully accept the new Matica into their community.


Talon, on the wing, the second book in the Talon series describes her incredible time with her beloved condors. Matica is now happy that she is small and doesn’t want to have it any other way. She is accepted, she is loved and she can have the incredible adventure with her beloved condors. What more could she have? All her rejection, all her hardship is over.


Talon, flight for life, the third book in the Talon series, describes her walk with her father to the next big city of Cajamarca to purchase some food, medication and the tickets for their six months holiday in Australia. On the way she misses her condors terrible, but still has an adventurous open mind walking with her father through rain forests, plateaus and other parts of the beautiful county of Peru, seeing macaws, toucans, even making friend with a monkey and a puma. And still the condors visiting them on the way to and from Cajamarca.


On the way back they visit an old Incan dwelling. And there a nasty, huge spider bit her father on his ankle. Affright and disgusted, she kills it. But not only the one, she had to kill several and Tamo as well. Her father had a very bad reaction of the bite. His leg swells to double its size. He becomes very ill and delirious with fever. Devastated and shocked, Matica doesn’t know what to do and calls for her condors. Soon after they come and even save her father’s life.


Adventure never stops.


No comments:

Post a Comment